Select Page

Manufactured Home Registration

Departments

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 20737
Tuscaloosa, AL 35402

Phone:
General Inquiries
(205) 464-8233

Business License,
Hunting & Fishing License,
Boat & Manufactured Home Inquiries
(205) 464-8235

Email:
General Inquiries
license@tuscco.com

Business License,
Hunting & Fishing License,
Boat & Manufactured Home Inquiries

businesslicense@tuscco.com

Fax: (205) 750-0530

Like us on Facebook
Main Office

entrance

Tuscaloosa County License Department
2501 7th Street, Suite 100
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401

Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday

View Map
Northport Office

north_entrance

West End of Northport City Hall
(At the corner of Highway 82 and Highway 43)
3500 McFarland Blvd
Northport, AL 35476

Hours: 8:00 am to 4:25 pm, Monday through Friday

View Map
Skyland Office

sky_land

Spiller Market Center
(Across from Wal-Mart)
1514 Skyland Boulevard East
Tuscaloosa, AL 35405

Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday

View Map
Vance Office

image-98

Vance Annex
In the Vance Town Hall
(Off Tingle Tangle Rd, Near Wallace Tingle Park)
17710 Vance Municipal Dr
Vance, AL 35490

Hours: 8:00 am to Noon & 1:00 pm to 4:25 pm, Monday through Friday
The Vance Office closes for lunch daily from noon until 1:00 p.m.
Driver license and non-driver ID transactions cannot be processed at the Vance Office.

View Map

GENERAL MANUFACTURED HOME INFORMATION

The registration of manufactured homes is governed according to Title 40 Chapter 12, Section 255 of the Code of Alabama 1975. Manufactured homes must be registered within 30 calendar days from the date of sale or completion of the manufactured home’s setup. Failure to comply with state law could result in the issuance of a penalty of $10 as well as a citation fee of $15. Homeowners who fail to obtain and/or correctly display a manufactured home decal, if found guilty in court, can be fined up to $50.00, and/or sentenced up to six (6) months in the county jail under Section 40-12-255.

Registration decals for manufactured homes must be purchased annually. The time and place to obtain a decal depends upon whether or not the owner has a homestead exemption, is assessed as real property or the manufactured home is used as commercial property.

REGISTRATION OF MANUFACTURED HOMES WITH THE TAX ASSESSOR’S OFFICE

Under certain circumstances, manufactured homes that have been set up on property owned by the manufactured home owner may be assessed as real property in order to qualify for a “homestead exemption” of certain property tax. For additional information on assessing a manufactured home as real property or filing for homestead exemptions, contact the Tax Assessor’s Office at (205) 349-3870, extension 240.

REGISTRATION OF MANUFACTURED HOMES WITH THE LICENSE OFFICE

Manufactured homes are generally registered with the License Office if the manufactured home is in a different name than the land, or if the owner is renting the manufactured home to a tenant. Manufactured homes registered through the License Office expire September 30 of each year and must be renewed between October 1 and November 30.

REGISTERING A MANUFACTURED HOME THROUGH THE LICENSE OFFICE

If the manufactured home is older than 20 model years, only the bill of sale is required. However, if the manufactured home is 20 model year or newer, a title, manufacturer’s statement of origin or an application for an Alabama Certificate of Title processed by an approved designated agent is required. A bill of sale is also required. Photo identification (driver license or non-driver ID) must also be presented.

Manufactured home titles cost $23 for each side or section. Each side of a manufactured home is titled separately. For example, a single wide manufactured home has only one section, and has only one title. However, a double wide manufactured home has 2 sections, so a double wide manufactured home will have 2 separate titles. Replacement titles for manufactured homes cost $18 for each section.

Sales tax for manufactured homes is set at 2% and must be collected for all manufactured home purchases. If the manufactured home was purchased from a dealer and the bill of sale shows that sufficient sales tax was collected, then no sales tax will be due at the time of the manufactured home’s registration. However, if no sales tax was collected, or if not enough was collected, sales tax must be paid in full at the time of the manufactured home’s registration.

MANUFACTURED HOME FEE SCHEDULE

Manufactured home registration fees are based on the age of the manufactured home and the class type.

Class Descriptions

Class

Description

A

Owner-Occupied Single-Wide

B

Owner-Occupied Double-Wide or Larger

C

Commercial Single-Wide (Rental)

D

Commercial Double-Wide or Larger (Rental)

Yearly Registration Fees*

Class

1-9
YEARS OLD

10-19
YEARS OLD

20 PLUS
YEARS OLD

A

$29

$23

$17

B

$53

$41

$29

C

$53

$41

$29

D

$101

$77

$53

* Prices include a $5 issuance fee for each decal issued for the current year.

MANUFACTURED HOME EXEMPTIONS

A person may qualify for an exemption on a manufactured home registration IF that person owns the manufactured home AND lives in it AND is either 65 years old or older OR is totally disabled.

Remember: Each person must claim the exemption every year at the time the registration is renewed, as well as provide proof of eligibility for the exemption.

A person can use a driver license, non-driver ID card, birth certificate, passport, etc. as proof of meeting the age requirement.

In order to prove totally disabled, a certificate of disability from the Social Security Administration OR certification from Veterans Affairs OR certification from 2 physicians licensed to practice in Alabama. Having disability access parking license plates or placards does not qualify as proof of total disability.

If you have questions regarding manufactured home registrations, please feel free to contact the License Office by phone at (205) 464-8235 or by email at BusinessLicense@tuscco.com.

395018_177744712324860_1956259909_nDisclaimer: The information contained in this website is current as of July 1, 2017. It is not all-inclusive, and is only meant to provide general information regarding licensing and registration requirements in Tuscaloosa County. Please note that changes in the law and directives from the Alabama Department of Revenue can alter, negate or compound the requirements contained herein.