Select Page

Boat Registration

Departments

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 20737
Tuscaloosa, AL 35402

Phone:
General Inquiries
(205) 464-8233

Business License,
Hunting & Fishing License,
Boat & Manufactured Home Inquiries
(205) 464-8235

Email:
General Inquiries
license@tuscco.com

Business License,
Hunting & Fishing License,
Boat & Manufactured Home Inquiries

businesslicense@tuscco.com

Fax: (205) 750-0530

Like us on Facebook
Main Office

entrance

Tuscaloosa County License Department
2501 7th Street, Suite 100
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401

Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday

View Map
Northport Office

north_entrance

West End of Northport City Hall
(At the corner of Highway 82 and Highway 43)
3500 McFarland Blvd
Northport, AL 35476

Hours: 8:00 am to 4:25 pm, Monday through Friday

View Map
Skyland Office

sky_land

Spiller Market Center
(Across from Wal-Mart)
1514 Skyland Boulevard East
Tuscaloosa, AL 35405

Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday

View Map
Vance Office

image-98

Vance Annex
In the Vance Town Hall
(Off Tingle Tangle Rd, Near Wallace Tingle Park)
17710 Vance Municipal Dr
Vance, AL 35490

Hours: 8:00 am to Noon & 1:00 pm to 4:25 pm, Monday through Friday
The Vance Office closes for lunch daily from noon until 1:00 p.m.
Driver license and non-driver ID transactions cannot be processed at the Vance Office.

View Map

GENERAL BOAT INFORMATION

Alabama registers all mechanically propelled vessels (boats), sailboats, and boats for hire (not canoes). Boat owners may register, renew or transfer boat ownership at any Tuscaloosa County License Office location. If you are a dealer or livery (rental), registration must be accomplished only by contacting the Marine Police Division Office in Montgomery, Alabama. You must call before going to the Marine Police Office in Montgomery. Marine Police 301 South Ripley Street Montgomery, AL 36130 (800)272-7930 View Map

WHAT IS THE PROCESS TO REGISTER MY BOAT?

  1. Bring all available documentation to one of our locations. If there is a manufacturer’s certificate of origin or title from another state for the boat, bring that as well. (Note: Alabama does not title boats.)
  2. A bill of sale is required for all vessel purchases. If a bill of sale is not available, you must complete an affidavit listing the amount you paid for the boat.
  3. If the vessel is currently (or ever has been) registered, whether in Alabama or another state, be sure to bring a copy of the most recent registration if possible.

BOAT REGISTRATION FEES

Annual registration fees for vessels are based upon the length of the vessel, and are not prorated for partial year registration. Therefore, the cost is the same whether purchasing a registration for one month or an entire year. However, no ad valorem tax is assessed on vessels, and there are no late penalties for the registration or renewal of a vessel.

  1. When transferring ownership of a vessel with a valid Alabama registration decal, the initial transfer fee will be $5.00, plus any applicable sales tax.
  2. If the vessel has been previously registered in Alabama, but the registration has expired, a $5.00 transfer fee, plus the registration fee, plus applicable sales tax will apply.
  3. When registering a vessel in Alabama for the first time, the yearly registration fee, plus any applicable sales tax will be due. A new Alabama registration number will be assigned upon registration.

Boat Registration Fees

Less Than 16 Feet Long

$20.00

16 Feet and Longer, but Less Than 26 Feet

$25.00

26 Feet and Longer, but Less Than 40 Feet

$75.00

40 Feet and Longer

$100.00

Transfer, Replacement, Duplicate

$5.00

HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO REGISTER MY BOAT?

Although there are no late penalties collected by the License Office for the registration or renewal of a boat, the Alabama Marine Police places certain limitations on the period of time an owner has to register a vessel in his or her name.

  • There is a 72 hour grace period for the registration of a new boat.
  • If you purchase a used boat that is currently registered in Alabama, you must make application for transfer within 15 calendar days of purchase.
  • There is no grace period for a used boat that does not have a valid Alabama registration. If you purchase a used boat with an expired registration, you MUST currently register the boat before it is placed in the water.

Remember: The only way to guarantee that you do not receive a ticket for not having a boat registered in your name is to register the boat in your name before placing it in the water.

CAN I RENEW MY BOAT REGISTRATION ONLINE?

The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources offers online renewal of boat registrations through its website at www.outdooralabama.com. Other types of transactions (first-time registrations, transfers, replacements and duplicates) must still be processed in person at the License Office.

Please be aware that you will not receive a renewal notice from the Tuscaloosa County License Office the next year if you renew your boat registration online because the renewal will not be in our registration system.

BOAT REGISTRATION RULES & REGULATIONS

The Alabama Marine Police is responsible for the promulgation and enforcement of all boating regulations. Additional boating information can be found online at www.outdooralabama.com, the official website of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. There, you can also find a variety of other subjects from hunting and fishing license information and requirements to information on state parks and more. You can even buy hunting and fishing licenses online at www.outdooralabama.com!

VESSEL OPERATOR LICENSES

To get information concerning licenses to operate vessels, please visit the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s website at www.alea.gov. If you have any questions regarding boat registration, please call (205) 464-8235.

395018_177744712324860_1956259909_nDisclaimer: The information contained in this website is current as of July 1, 2017. It is not all-inclusive, and is only meant to provide general information regarding licensing and registration requirements in Tuscaloosa County. Please note that changes in the law and directives from the Alabama Department of Revenue can alter, negate or compound the requirements contained herein.