Open Tuesday-Saturday 10am – 4:30 pm Experience the natural diversity of Alabama, view collections of geology, mineralogy, history and paleontology. House in historic Smith Hall, the museum is the first building on campus to be built in the twentieth century and one of the finest examples of Beaux-Arts architecture in the region. See the Hodges meteorite, the only meteorite known to have struck a human being. After hour rentals, special tours available. Admission charged.
Hours: Open Daily, 9am – 4pm. Guided tours for groups by appointment. Gift Shop. The Paul W. Bryant Museum is the place where “football season never ends!” Named in memory of the legendary Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, the museum showcases over 100 years of Alabama football history. A major tourist destination in Tuscaloosa, the Bryant Museum is a “must see” attraction. The exhibit hall highlights teams, players and coaches from the 1892 season to the present with memorabilia, trophies, photos, art, videos and interactive computers. The media, public and researchers depend on the Bryant Museum research library as a source for images and information. Private parties, civic groups, businesses and conventions choose the Bryant Museum’s unique atmosphere for after-hour tours and receptions. Admission charged.Visit Website
Built in 1829, the Gorgas House Museum is the oldest structure on the University of Alabama campus. Originally serving as the student dining hall, campus hotel, and residence for the university’s steward, it is one of only four current buildings on campus to survive the burning of the university by Union troops in 1865. Named for the Gorgas family which occupied the home from 1879-1953, the museum houses original Gorgas furnishings, memorabilia, and a collection of 19th century artifacts. The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1971.
The Gorgas House Museum is open to the public on weekdays from 9:00 am – 4:30 pm, or by appointment. Admission is $2. To schedule a group tour or for museum rental information, please call 205-348-5906. The Gorgas House Museum is located at 810 Capstone Drive and is closed on all University of Alabama holidays.
Experience the star-studded history of Daimler-Benz, the world’s premier automobile manufacturer. The story is chronicled in the Mercedes-Benz Visitor Center, the first of its kind outside Germany. This architectural showcase, adjacent to Daimler’s only U.S. automobile manufacturing plant, brings to life the company’s vision – to produce nothing less than the most exceptional automobiles in the world.
Located 12 miles south of Tuscaloosa on Hwy 69. Eight hundred years ago, Moundville was one of the largest and most powerful prehistoric Native American societies in North America. This National landmark site is a division of the University of Alabama. The museum contains artifacts unearthed at the site. Exhibits interpret the lifestyles of the natives who lived here during prehistoric times. The gift shop offers an excellent selection of books and Indian crafts. Grounds are open daily from 8:00 a.m. until dusk. The museum is open daily 9:00 am to 5:00 pm from March through October and 9:00 am to 4:00 pm from November through February. Closed major holidays. Admission charged
A must-see for black heritage scholars and amateurs alike. The lifestyle of affluent black citizens in the early 1900s is depicted in this house built by William J. Murphy, the first black licensed mortician in Tuscaloosa. Changing exhibits of local, state and national achievements of African-Americans are offered. African-American contractors built the two story bungalow in the late 1920s with brick and hand-hewn sills salvaged from the old State Capital building in Tuscaloosa.Visit Website
A must-see for black heritage scholars and amateurs alike. The lifestyle of affluent black citizens in the early 1900s is depicted in this house built by William J. Murphy, the first black licensed mortician in Tuscaloosa. Changing exhibits of local, state and national achievements of African-Americans are offered. African-American contractors built the two story bungalow in the late 1920s with brick and hand-hewn sills salvaged from the old State Capital building in Tuscaloosa.
The Northport Heritage Museum is located next to the Northport Community Center on Park Street near Downtown Northport. This 1907 Victorian era home was the residence of the Josh Palmer family and descendants for many years. Restoration efforts began in 1998 and the facility was completed in October 2001. The restoration of the Museum was funded through local donations. Each room is named after a heritage donor family. The Museum has many exhibits and photographs detailing the history of Northport from Native American history, settlement in 1816, through the decades to today. Among the special exhibits are the A.H. Bean World Photographic Collection and the Peterson Military Uniform Collection. The Museum is open the second and forth Saturday of each month from 10am – 1pm or by appointment. Group & school tours are available.
The Queen City Bath House serves the Tuscaloosa community as the Mildred Westervelt Warner Transportation Museum in offering opportunities for education and in assisting the preservation of our region’s historic artifacts. By maintaining the historic Queen City Park along the Black Warrior River, the Transportation Museum plans to advance knowledge and appreciation of Tuscaloosa’s local and regional history and natural resources through exhibits, museum educational programs and educational outreach efforts.