TUSCALOOSA COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING

February 15, 2023

TUSCALOOSA COUNTY \$
STATE OF ALABAMA \$

This being the date and hour to which the Tuscaloosa County Commission adjourned; the County Commission met pursuant to such adjournment with Probate Judge Rob Robertson presiding as Chairman. The following members were present:

Stan Acker Reginald Murray

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes of February 1, 2023.

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to confirm appointment of Representative Bill Lamb and Representative Chris England to the Tuscaloosa County Road Improvement Commission, Inc.

Exhibit 2-1, Pages

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to adopt a resolution approving and accepting the preliminary plat submission for Braxton Place, resurvey of lots 1 and 2, District I.

Exhibit 2-2, Page

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to set speed limit at 25 mph, with a 15 mph advisory in the "S" curve, on Meadowview Dr, District I.

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to approve the warrants issued to cover Tuscaloosa County's expenditures for January 2023.

Exhibit 2-3, Page

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to begin condemnation proceedings on 13970 Shelly Hughes Rd, District I.

Commissioner Reginald Murray's motion to donate two (2) surplus Sheriff's Office vehicles to the Samantha VFD and the Coker VFD, as described in Exhibit 2-4, was seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker. After discussion, Commissioner Stan Acker offered an amendment to the motion to provide \$1,000.00 from the District I discretionary fund to Samantha VFD and \$1,000.00 split between the District I and District IV discretionary funds (\$500.00 each) to Coker VFD for purchase of the vehicles. Commissioner Reginald Murray accepted the amendment and the amended motion passed unanimously.

Exhibit 2-4, Pages

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to depart from the order of business set forth in the official agenda to consider a contract matter for the Sheriff's Office.

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to authorize the Chair to execute a contract with the City of Tuscaloosa for \$500,000.00 to purchase a temporary modular jail unit (pod) for the Tuscaloosa County Jail Medical Expansion, once the City of Tuscaloosa presents an acceptable written agreement, as requested by Sheriff Ron Abernathy.

Exhibit 2-5, Pages

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to approve a District III discretionary fund expenditure in the amount of \$5,700.00 to Duncanville Middle School girls softball for stone for the parking area and road.

Commissioner Reginald Murray made a motion to approve construction of a Farmer's Market in the Braughton Park parking lot at a cost of \$34,000.00 for construction and Public Works constructing a slab or foundation for the market. After discussion, Commissioner Reginald Murray withdrew his motion to allow time to present additional information to the Commission.

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to approve an expenditure of approximately \$15,200.00 to allow Engineering to have the VanDeGraff Park bridge inspected and to establish and post the weight limit for the bridge.

There being no further business to come before the Tuscaloosa County Commission, the meeting adjourned to Wednesday, March 1, 2023.

Rob Robertson
Judge of Probate
Chairman Tuscaloosa County Commission

Stan Acker

Commissioner - District I

ABSENT

Jerry Tingle Commissioner - District II

ABSENT

Mark C. Nelson Commissioner - District III

Reginald Murray Commissioner - District IV