TUSCALOOSA COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING

MAY 24, 2017

TUSCALOOSA COUNTY §
STATE OF ALABAMA §

This being the date and hour to which the Tuscaloosa County Commission adjourned, the County Commission met pursuant to such adjournment with Probate Judge W. Hardy McCollum presiding as Chairman. The following members were present:

Stan Acker Jerry Tingle Mark C. Nelson Reginald Murray

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Jerry Tingle, the County Commission voted unanimously to go into Executive Session prior to the end of this meeting to discuss board appointments.

Commissioner Jerry Tingle moved, seconded by Commissioner Mark
C. Nelson, the County Commission voted unanimously to change the
following regularly scheduled County Commission Meetings:

June 7, 2017 to be June 14, 2017

June 21, 2017 to by June 28, 2017

July 5, 2017 and July 19, 2017 to be July 26, 2017

Chairman W. Hardy McCollum presented Tuscaloosa County Deputy Mark Weaver a thirty-five year service pin and thanked him for his dedicated service to the citizens of Tuscaloosa County.

Commissioner Jerry Tingle moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to adopt resolutions approving and accepting the following preliminary plat submissions:

Sand Valley Phase II

Waterton Lakes, Resurvey of Lots 11 and 12

Exhibit 5-1, Pages

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, second by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to award the bid for precast box culvert section components to Forterra Pipe and Precast, LLC in the amount of \$33,424.00. The bid was opened on May 17, 2017.

Exhibit 5-2, Pages

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Jerry Tingle, the County Commission voted unanimously to approve the warrants issued to cover Tuscaloosa County's expenditures for April 2017.

Exhibit 5-3, Page

Upon request by District Attorney Hays Webb, Commissioner Jerry Tingle moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to allocate up to \$225,000.00 to the District Attorney's office for the remainder of the 2016-2017 fiscal year with the District Attorney's office and County Financial Officer Bill Lamb collaborating on withdraws as needed if the District Attorney's escrow account funds deplete as anticipated.

Commissioner Stan Acker moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to approve funding in the amount of \$2,500.00 from the District I discretionary fund to be used to complete the radio repeater project at Wiley Volunteer Fire Department.

Exhibit 5-4, Page

Commissioner Jerry Tingle moved, seconded by Commissioner Stan Acker, the County Commission voted unanimously to authorize paving to the Coaling Fire Department and storm shelter drive and parking area by Tuscaloosa County Public Works under the following conditions: the areas to be paved must be clearly marked and agreed to by representatives from Coaling Volunteer Fire Department Board and the Town Council of Coaling. The Town of Coaling, Coaling Volunteer Fire Department and Commissioner District 2 fund commits \$12,000.00 each to the cost of the \$36,000.00 project. Public Works is to work out the details, agreements and collections for the project.

Exhibit 5-5, Page

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Jerry Tingle, the County Commission voted unanimously to depart from the order of business set forth in the official agenda to consider an agreement with TTL on the Fosters Storm Shelter Project.

Commissioner Reginald Murray moved, seconded by Commissioner Jerry Tingle, the County Commission voted unanimously to authorize an agreement with TTL for the Fosters Storm Shelter. The grant match by the county is 25% of the total cost of \$3,950.00 (\$987.50) to be funded from the District 4 discretionary fund.

Exhibit 5-6, Pages

Commissioner Jerry Tingle moved, seconded by Commissioner Reginald Murray, the County Commission voted unanimously to make the following board appointments:

Melvin Vines and Dan Gibson reappointed to the Heritage Commission. Their terms will expire September 20, 2020 and May 29, 2021 respectively.

Dr. Guillermo Godoy, Ron Turner, Rev. Donnell Williams reappointed to the Mental Health Board. Their terms will expire April 1, 2023, April 1, 2023 and April 1, 2020 respectively.

Curtis Travis reappointed to the Park and Recreation Authority. His term will expire October 1, 2019.

John Foster, Jr. reappointed to the Coaling Water Authority, Inc. His term will expire March 1, 2023.

Gary McCracken reappointed to the Fosters Ralph Water Authority. His term will expire March 1, 2023.

There being no further business to come before the Tuscaloosa County Commission, the meeting adjourned to Wednesday, June 14, 2017.

W. Hardy McCollum

Judge of Probate and Chairman
Tuscaloosa County Commission

Stan Acker Commissioner - District I

Jerry Tingle Commissioner - District II

Mark C. Nelson Commissioner - District III

Reginald Murray Commissioner - District IV